A Type of Eating

To celebrate the Fourth of July, my mother-in-law and her best friend, who’s also my husband’s godmother, came to our place for the day. We visited the local Hawaiian Falls water park and spend most of the afternoon at the house having a cook-in. The entire time, however, if we weren’t doing something else – going on rides, swimming, looking at pictures – we ate. A lot.

My mother-in-law’s best friend said that we keep “noshing.” You see, my husband and I tend to be quite proper in both our written and verbal communication and having never heard that word, Stephen laughed and told her that this must be a “Central Texas thing.” Both Stephen’s godmother and mom grew up in a small town outside Austin, TX and when my mother-in-law confirmed that to nosh is indeed a real expression, he jokingly assumed they had their own vocabulary.

Being the grammar/language stickler that I am, this all spurred my curiosity; so, here it is from my favorite Merriam-Webster online – nosh, intransitive verb, means “to eat a snack” and the noun’s definition is “a light meal.” The first known use of the word was in the 1930-1940s. It is said to originate from the German “naschen” meaning “to nibble” or the Yiddish “nashn.” Apparently, people in the UK use noshing as a slag term for food.

No matter how you say it, I am a 500-pound person on the inside, so I love to nosh.

Leave a Reply

