Happy Pancake Day

Food = amazing. While I don’t usually care for the various made-up holidays, I happen to love to eat. Since an early age, pancakes were my favorite breakfast. My mom made them every Sunday and it was the one day a week that we truly gathered as a family in the mornings and had a happy time. Today is the IHOP National Pancake Day. When you visit a location, you will get a free short stack of buttermilk pancakes. In exchange, you can donate money that will go to charity.

If you didn’t go by an IHOP on time, there is always February 28 next year. In the meantime, I would like to share my grandma’s recipe for European pancakes – the same crepes my mom made me.

Whisk in 2 large eggs, 1 cup of milk (or even water) and about eight tablespoons flour. Spray a 9″ pan with cooking spray or add a tablespoon oil. Pour a thin even layer of the mixture. When the crepe starts detaching easily from the pan, flip over and cook another minute or so. Voila! Wipe down the pan and repeat. You can fill the crepes with jam, jelly, Nutella or make them salty with cheese or cut cold meats – the latter may sound crazy, but trust me it’s worth a try. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

