Ripe in White

If you’ve ever grown strawberries or have happened to be in a strawberry field when the fruit is about to ripen you might have seen the new, white strawberries with red seeds. Those are my favorite kind to eat, not ripe yet, but still sweet and delicious. I can’t get them in the States, but I used to munch on them all the time when I was a child, to my grandpa’s biggest displeasure. Well, today I discovered that a slightly smaller fruit that looks exactly like my favorite strawberry, but in a ripe state exists – the pineberry. It’s a white strawberry tasting like pineapple, a hybrid growing in South America. Some sources say the fruit variety was cultivated by scientists, but I still wouldn’t mind trying it. Yum!

Pineberries
Leave a Reply

