Follow Your Heart, Use Your Head

The withdrawal of one of our students spurred a nice conversation between my boss and me about a trend that, I learned, seems to be happening more and more these days – a turn away from public schools. Many parents chose a private institution for their children early on, be that for the potential of a better education, higher safety, religious affiliation or any other of those reasons that seem to make paying for school better than paying less or not at all. I never attended a private school, so in reality I have no room to bash the choices parents are apparently making today. But, with my fact learned today, I would like to put in my two cents.

Never did public school fail me. Never. I graduated Summa Cum Laude from the University of Texas at Arlington, debt-free. Never had I any safety, drug or alcohol issues as a teen or later on, I grew up to be independent and travel to the other side of the world on my own even before I legally became an adult. And for that matter, the happiest years of my life so far were while attending community college in the small town of Kilgore, Texas. Yes, the home of the world-famous Rangerettes.  I got the best education I could imagine, I managed to pay for school and support myself through my jobs, I made more friends that I ever had, I got that individual attention and good values that teachers are supposed to instill in their pupils and to this day I correspond with the institution’s vice president and many other instructors.

So, here is my point – do your research. We all want the best for our children, our future, but that does not mean blindly following the newest movement, because those fashions fade away while school experiences stay forever.

 

Leave a Reply

